The Company You Keep

The company you work for in this industry is important.

Money is a deciding reason for many to travel. Though the field isn’t as lucrative as it used to be, you can still make good money on top of the other amazing perks. Gotta pay the bills even as you get your travel on!

Having 2-3 companies that you keep profiles with is one of the essential pieces of advice any long time traveler will give you. You need options, diverse ones.

We want the best pay for the amount of work we do. That means vetting companies and negotiating bill rates so you can do that successfully.

Different size companies have a lot to offer aside from dollars though. You may want the TLC that a small company provides or the choice location and hospital that a large one offers. It’s like picking a college. They all look good, but who feels like home?

That’s something you have to decide.

I currently work with a company called PPR travel nursing. They’ve actually been my sole travel company since I started this very interesting occupation. A fellow travel nurse recommended the company and my recruiter, Tina Akins, and I haven’t branched out even though I have completed profiles with 3 other companies.

In my opinion, my recruiter is what makes me stay. There are times the money isn’t all that great (other times where it is awesome!), but trying to develop a good rapport with a new recruiter is exhausting. It’s like a blind date where you’re planning on being intimate blindfolded.

Is this as good for you as it is for me?

Reality is, a crappy recruiter can sour an assignment. Not everyone meshes well together either. I’ve had people tell me they loved a certain recruiter and I found this person to be pushy, obnoxious, and deaf to my wises. So I stay with Tina.

It’s a business though, yes? We are all here to make money in some fashion. Therefore it’s important to check out each company, speak to a good recruiter, and be clear with your wishes. If that means working with someone else, then make that request. You are your own advocate in this business so be smart about it.

Here’s to the company (and good recruiters) we keep.

Travel on, road warrior.

Traveling, too? Comment away

