Self-doubt

IMG_2653.JPG

Doubt.

I’ve battled doubt for most of my adult life. I’ve struggled with perfectionism, which in this profession can only lead to frustration.

One of my weaknesses skill set wise is IV starts. Ugh!

It’s stupid because everyone has those days where they miss every IV they start, but when you battle perfectionism it becomes almost unconscionable to not be excellent at something you’re expected to be excellent at.

I can do everything else with extreme expertise, but a failure in something simple makes me question my skills.

Ack!

So what’s a girl to do when every place she goes to uses a different IV start set and she’s gotta find her way?

Try, try again.

I guess that’s the good thing about moving around. It gives me the opportunity to let go of my need to be perfect, ask for help, and keep trying until I get it.

Everyone has that thing they aren’t excellent at. It’s okay. Our other exemplary skills make up for it and we’re a team for a reason. There’s always someone stellar are something you’re weak at.

I have a feeling perfectionism will always be an issue for me, and I’ll have bad IV start days, but it’ll get better. I’ve been a nurse long enough (8.5 long years) to know it’s all about practice and repetition. And when I have awesome days when every vein I try is the perfect stick the first time? I reward myself with cookies.

Here’s to getting better at it.

Travel on, road warrior.

Traveling, too? Comment away

