Dear (Potential) Recruiter

An open letter

Dear Recruiter(s),

Back off. There, I said it.

There’s a difference between garnering business and being annoying, and you have an uncanny ability of being the latter as opposed to the former.

I get it, this is your livelihood in the same way my skill set, continued practice, and licenses are mine. If you don’t have nurses, aren’t recruiting new nurses, and aren’t keeping your current nurses happy, you can’t make a living. It’s about the money and you have to do what you have to do to make dat money.

But. You. Annoy. Me.

I’m on nights so calling me multiple times in the middle of the day when I don’t even work for your company annoys me. Not listening to my requests to only receive emails unless I really want to talk on the phone annoys me. Not listening period annoys me. Presenting jobs I don’t want annoys me.

See? Annoyed.

As a rule, if I haven’t returned your phone calls, voicemails, emails, or any other form of communication, I am not interested. Continued efforts do not endear you to me, and if I ever do decide to go with your company I will not have you as my recruiter.

Many times overzealous recruiter = lack of quality care after I’ve taken an assignment. I’m low maintenance as a rule. I don’t need weekly check ins, gifts, or calls if I have an established relationship. I do expect prompt response from you when I need something. But riding my behind from the onset only shows me you want a body and aren’t genuinely concerned with me, your traveler.

I don’t want you, I don’t need you, please chill out, and STOP CALLING MY PHONE! Oh, friending me on Facebook or LinkedIn (I’ll cover this new happening soon) also will not increase your chances of getting me to work for/with you.

Because the bottom line is if you’re a good recruiter, word of mouth will bring me to you. Panhandling ain’t gonna do it.

Sincerely,
A tired, frustrated, irritated, extremely annoyed, night shift, traveling nurse

Traveling, too? Comment away

