The Cities I Love

Even before I began traveling for my profession, I made it my goal to travel the world as much as I was able. It was my promise to myself the moment I graduated nursing school. As a result, there are cities (and countries) that hold a special place in my traveler’s heart.

Boston: I can’t explain how much I love Boston. It’s weird that a place that isn’t my city of birth has become a place that I call home when I’m away.

I miss it. The T, the people, the food, the entertainment, everything! When I come back, when I touchdown at Logan airport, the first thing out of my mouth is, “Man, I miss it here”.

A walkable small city with a big city feel, Boston is just that place you want to go and be. Native Bostonians (people from Mass in general) just have that way about them I love. Add the transplants and college people that give the city the right kind of feel. I just can’t stay away from Boston.

Zambia: It’s a country, but still Zambia holds a special place in my heart. I’ve done a few mission/humanitarian trips here and love the people. I didn’t think it was possible to be changed by a place the way that Zambia changed me.

It’s unexplainable really, but after 3 visits to this amazing country, I’ve stopped trying to explain it.

London: I had the opportunity to layover here the first time I went to Zambia in 2005.

It was a 13 hour stop where I just scratched the surface of the city. Hopped on the Underground, took a photo on Buckingham Palace lawn, saw the palace, had lunch in a market, peeped Westminster and Big Ben, and back to airport I went. A fast trip, but I still think about to this day.

I actually just booked a tour through Trafalgar for my 31st birthday. So 10 years after the first time I set foot in London, I’ll get to go back. I want tea, I want the Globe Theater, I want a pub crawl, I want a play. This trip isn’t just London, but I’m beyond excited to see this city again.

Las Vegas: Adult Disney. A crazy playground that’s always up. Just like a hospital, it has its important places, people, and craziness. Though I’d rather go to Vegas than the hospital.

I’m embarrassed about the number of times I’ve been here. Though, I’ve been to Disney triple the times I’ve been to Vegas and all after I entered my 20s.

The thing I like about Vegas is the show. You want reality? Get off the strip. You want a show and to be entertained? Waltz down the center of the Vegas strip and you’ll be entertained.

San Diego: one place I pray I get the chance to work in before I hang up my traveling shoes.

Coronado island, Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park, San Diego zoo, water, beaches, 70 degrees year round. Seriously, seriously, seriously you cannot tell me this place isn’t awesome. I can’t be convinced of it!

San Francisco: I have a great love for California cities. San Francisco has a top spot. Though their transportation can be tricky if you’re not in the right part of town, this city is lively and fun.

I’m a lover of seafood. Okay, I’m a lover of food in general. San Francisco has some great food, seafood in particular. The ferry building has so many lunch time options. I had the best grilled Mahi sandwich ever, nothing will compare now.

But the sights here. The Golden Gate Bridge on a clear day will make you think of a bridge to heaven. Cultural this city is diverse and interesting. You can get lost here happily.

Nashville, Kyoto, Botswana, Alexandria, Va…

I could go on, but I’ll stop. There’s so much I haven’t seen in my 30 years. Traveling allows me the opportunity to open my eyes to cultures so different than my own within the US. The amazing things internationally feed my hunger to see the world. I love it and it’s part of why I can’t give it up yet.

To the cities that hold our hearts.

Travel (abroad and domestic) on, road warriors.

Traveling, too? Comment away

