Week 4: props the charge nurse

I’ll keep this short, but I wanted to recap and recognize the end of week four in sunny California.

I’m turning into a regular Cali girl! I’m over here enjoying the beach, mixing shakes, and going to yoga. None of that happened when I was in Northern California, but the constant 70 degree weather is making me a regular yogi.

Namaste.

The biggest thing I’ve noticed and wanted to make note of in general this week is how hard the charge nurse works

I also never want to be charge.

In the places I’ve worked, the charge takes on some serious duties. Assisting other nurses, organizing and shuffling patients, assigning nurses, seconding deliveries, triaging, and sometimes taking patients while continuing to do all the above things.

I’ve had the privilege of working with some excellent charges.

It’s hard enough doing this job without having the added responsibility of making sure everything is running smoothly during the shift. I’d pull my hair out and cry an awful lot if I was in charge!

So here’s to the great charge nurses I’ve worked with so far. You keep me from wanting to quit when the shift is rough. Never change.

Travel on, road warrior.

Traveling, too? Comment away

