Magnet Status?

I’ll try curtailing my ranty posts in the future, but this has been something I have got to get on my soapbox about.

So what does it mean, as a nurse, to be fully engaged and loving your job? What things benefit you, make patient care easy/fun, and make coming to work worth it? What does commitment look like? Does upper/middle management treat you like you’re a valuable asset? Do they listen to your concerns/needs/requests? Do you feel like you’re a crucial part of a team that meets the healthcare needs of the community you serve?

Here’s a question: what does a dissatisfied nurse mean in the arena of patient care services?

This is a continuation of my previous post on cellphone use. A rant of sorts that has been brewing for years.

What causes nurses to stop loving what they do? To move away from floor nursing into other areas of nursing, if they don’t quit all together.

I think the reason is multifaceted, but I believe the way nurses are treated in a hospital setting drives part of that burn out. (I say part because I know the reasons nurses leave is never as simple as one thing)

A shift can be difficult. On a good day it’s simply the demands of your particular speciality. On a bad day it’s losing a patient or patients.

Nothing makes working more trying than inconvenient meetings, changes that fail to consider your practice, and upper management who declares you can be replaced by trained monkeys.

Who wants to work in that environment?

I’m huge on only staying somewhere that makes me feel valued as an employee. If I feel valued, I provide quality care. I’m invested in the wellbeing of the hospital, I communicate care outside of the patient’s room, I want to give 110% because I know my opinion and hard work is recognized.

Feeling valued is simple in my book. It’s listening to complaints, it’s computer systems actually geared toward floor work, it’s remembering that I need a decent/safe/accessible place to park just as much as the patients do, it’s treating me like an adult who has a multi level education and more than 5 years of experience, it’s praise in recognizable ways that show that someone other than my fellow nurses see and appreciate what gets done in a shift.

What about punishment? Stop taking the wrongdoing of a handful as a means to treat the entire workforce like scapegoats.

A lack of that is why I keep moving.

It was 3 years after graduation that I went back to school because being a floor nurse at a hospital wasn’t fulfilling. I loved my coworkers, hated leaving them actually. I also didn’t like removing myself from the patient’s bedside completely so I went per diem. Surely being a nurse in a different capacity would have different results.

I found teaching to have much the same issues (a post to come on that soon). Nursing tended to be beat to death and never backed up by administration. How can you expect so much and fail to give any support? That never equals success or satisfaction.

People don’t stay when they feel mistreated. Or if they do, they do the bare minimum to get their paycheck and you never have employees who are committed to your business. No big deal except nurses are lifesavers. If I’m doing just enough to get by, what does that mean for my patient??

The hospital system is broken on a greater level then just cost. I’m a huge advocate for nurses stepping up and doing things in the hospital setting to make working easier, but one does ask if it’s worth it when your pushback is so intense.

Nurses are valuable. We continue to be the most trusted profession and yet many of us don’t love going to work. So what’s that tell you?

It says I need to keep moving.

Hear this that I am about to say to you. Listen and take it to heart: Nurse, you are valuable. You touch a life, you change a life, your practice is incredible. Remember that even when they treat you like trash. If you have to go, go! Remember, one terrible hospital’s trash is another great hospital’s treasure. Own. That. *snap snap*

Do your thang

Travel on, road warrior

2 thoughts on “Magnet Status?

Traveling, too? Comment away

