Important Policies and Self-Important Physicians

I’ve been holding off writing this post for a couple of weeks. One reason for the delay is I wasn’t sure how to say what was one my mind without sounding hateful. Another is I needed to let my thought evolve a bit

As you can tell from the soapbox posts on this blog, when I’m riled, I can spout off on any number of things. Today I’d like to cover two topics that are very near and dear: polices and arrogant doctors. Did I say near and dear? What I really meant was “make me throw side eye”

Policies and procedures are important to me as a traveler because I need to know exactly how a facility does something. It’s all about covering my butt, and double and triple checking before I do something in the patient care realm is how I do it.

  • Whats the policy on pitocin administration? Augmentation vs induction?
  • Can the nurse insert the cervidil or cytotec?
  • What’s the monitoring policy for a normal labor patient? Induction? High risk?
  • What about eating while in labor?
  • Whats your staffing policy?
  • Is your mag sulfate/insulin pump/pitocin administration a two person verification requirement?

I could go on. The point being is I want to see in writing what the protocol is before I have to do it. I’m that person who prints out the mag sulfate policy so I know how to start it and when to do I&Os/labs/lung sounds. If I need to do something with an insulin pump, I have policy in hand beside the order, with someone double checking with me.

Yea, most things are the same across the board, but every hospitals does it slightly different and I will not overstep my allowances in practice. UHC allowed their nurses to administer moat cervical ripening agents without the physician being present, but Salinas required the doc to place every cervidil and at least the first cytotec. Show me the policy so if the doc gives me flack, I have policy to support not doing (or doing) something.

Have a policy or order standing for when a patient needs ephedrine if their BP drops, but don’t waste my time with a BS rule about patient beds being up when the patient is being recovered. She knows not to get out of bed and I’ve been here for 2 months and not once has anyone said that was an issue. Show. Me. The. Policy.

Now to the other thing…

image

I’m not a fan of doctors. What I mean is not a fan of working with doctors (I’m including some midwives in this also). What I’m really trying to say is 98% of the doctors I’ve ever worked with are pompous, arrogant, mean, condescending, douchebags. The 2% I’ve liked have been general practitioners.

Maybe my distaste stems from the number of times I’ve been berated, belittled, yelled at, dressed down, disrespected, and called names to my face and in front of patients. I have very little tolerance for it. No, I will never talk back, but don’t treat me like a maid servant one second and expect me to sit and discuss your family or shoot the breeze the next. We aren’t friends and you’ve demonstrated you don’t know how to even be civil

The first time a doc yelled at me, I was owl-eyed and tongue-tied I still get tongue-tied. I mean, because who expects a doc to comment “is she new?” after you call them in for your unmedicated labor patient who is pushing. Heaven forbid they have to stand there 10 extra minutes while the nurse pushes with her. 😒

I’ve been at this too long and had too many run ins with mean doctors. Don’t call them at night, don’t call them unless someone’s dying, don’t call them until you see ears, but make sure you call before the mouth is out!

I get it. Doctors have busy lives in and out of the hospital, but that’s just an excuse to behave like no one else matters except them.

And nothing makes me dislike a doctor more than when s/he acts like the ground s/he walks on is paved in gold. Newsflash: there is only one God and you are not Him. MD after your name does not change that fact

There’s no cure for medical arrogance though I wish one existed. There are a few doctors who need their mouths washed out with soap and their bottoms spanked for the way they act. You can’t say whatever you want to say and Nurse/management/hospitals should stop reinforcing the idea that doctors can do whatever and get away with it

Disrecpectful doctors can put a black mark on a hospital for me.

My ideal working environment? No berating and no questioning/belittling in front of the patient. Ever. No temper tantrum if called to address the patient’s needs, regardless of time of day. Acknowledging the fact that we are indeed partners in the patient’s care. Working with a doctor that respects my practice, my years of nursing, my knowledge. I know traveling makes that hard because that only comes as they get to know you, but a girl can dream.

I go to and recommend doctors with good bedside manner AND a good rapport with the floor nurses. If you can’t treat the people who watch your patients with a modicum of respect, why should anyone want you to take care of them? The nurse is the liaison between you and the patient. We smooth your rough edges, we explain what you rushed through, we keep everyone alive when you are gone 23 out of 24 hours.

Patients should know that and see nurses be treated like team members so we aren’t undermined. Because being asked when the doctor is coming in as though my assessment of the situation means little gets me heated. Plus, I’m calling him anyway with said assessment because that comment alone says a lot about their understanding of nursing.

Not “just” the nurse, but the colleague who does work in tandem with the doctors.

Remember that.

Travel on, road warrior!

2 thoughts on “Important Policies and Self-Important Physicians

  1. Ms. C,

    You very eloquently put into words, what we as chronically ill (and not) patients also get to experience from the physicians that we go to. Isn’t interesting that no matter whether you are coming at it from the professional medical perspective, or you are on the patient receiving end of things…arrogant doctors are just arrogant doctors!! You are very smart to have those policies in hand. If you get too fed up with the lot of them…you would have a lovely writing career.

    Sandy Burkett

    Like

    • I don’t know about a writing career!! I need a really good editor. I think good bedside manner is learned not taught. Without incentive to sit at the bedside, many docs lack the ability to be anything except arrogant.

      Like

Traveling, too? Comment away

