Life on the road 

Two weeks down. 2 days or hospital orientation and 6 days of floor orientation completed. Next week I’m on my own. 

As you know, I keep a running list of topics to go on about, but I’m actually going to talk about something other than work today. 

For me, one of the biggest consequences of traveling has been the toll it takes on my spiritual life. Moving every three months makes finding a church hard. Add working or traveling on Sundays and I can say that my spiritual life is low. 

I’ve never been the type to make friends easily as I’m really leery around strangers. Steady discipleship is necessary to helping me remain on track. You have no idea how easy it is to fall into things when your guard is down. 

It takes little to get out of the habit of things. A certain level of confusion settles and I find myself looking around wondering how I got where I am. I spend the rest of the time wondering how to get where I need to be. It plagues me a lot. 

It’s difficult to take a hard look at yourself and realize that you’re not doing well. Even harder to admit it on an open forum. When many of your counterparts are doing so well and you realize you most definitely aren’t, it’s easy to keep your mouth shut and say you’re okay too. 

I’m most definitely not the 30-something abandoning her faith. Frankly, I’m trying to sort through things to find a stronger, clearer understanding of how my faith works in my life. 

I’m not going to outline my mistakes, but I think I wrote more to ask for prayer. Not that God makes me the person I was in high school or college, but that I allow him to take me from where I am. 

So there’s where I’m at. Next week I’ll probably talk about how high strung everyone is at my current assignment (and they are so high strung it’ll give you q headache), but this week is for an (semi) honest reflection. 

Traveling, too? Comment away

