Not Boston: it’s not you… 

3 weeks down! 

I’m noticing I’ve hit my stride when it comes to being in new work environment. Not as much hesitation anymore. I jump in to help so I can figure out what I need to do when I’m on my own. It’s a way to be helpful and keep from feeling like I’m drowning.

In the 6 days I had on the floor orienting, at least one whole shift and part of another I was working alone. They were busy (for them) and the energy level was manic. I’ve worked a lot of different places and this place has some people with a nearly crazy level of mania when they are busy. While I understand (they are having a surge of deliveries they weren’t anticipating this year), I feed off that and there are times I want to tell them to take a breath and calm down. FOR THE LOVE OF EVERYTHING, CALM DOWN. 

I jumped in. Isn’t that what nurses do? Do you need help? Can I help you do anything? Do you want me to take a patient? Help offered is usually help returned. 

I’m there to help, something I’ve been saying since I started traveling. It always surprises me how they behave when I do offer to help and jump right in. I’m over here thinking “what kind of people do you normally get if my offer to help is met with gushing and praise?” I floated to postpartum willingly (something most l&d nurses seem to hate) and helped over there. Some. Thing. The girls on l&d kept saying postpartum was going to steal me. 

I don’t see offering or jumping in as anything extraordinary, but apparently it is. I’m barely off orientation and I’m already getting asked the “Are you sure you don’t want to stay??” question. 

No! 

I mean… I can’t see me settling down at this time. I need to start writing a letter. It would go something like this: 

Dear (temporary coworkers),

While I enjoy working wherever I am, I can’t stay with you beyond what I agreed to in my contract nor can I promise I’ll extend. I’m too much of a rolling stone to be bothered with the day to day, every day, for the rest of my career drama that comes with being permanent staff anywhere. So what I’m trying to say is… It’s not always you, it’s usually me. I hope you understand. 

Sincerely, 

Nurse C onthego

Travel on, road warrior 

3 thoughts on “Not Boston: it’s not you… 

Traveling, too? Comment away

