Mistakes or legacies 

I’m home for a while.

The travelers’ conference was incredibly informative. I’m sure I’ll be imparting some knowledge from that at some point. The biggest thing I gleaned was protecting your traveling experience whether it’s financially, professionally, or emotionally. I’m still in the process of learning how to be a smarter traveler.

  
Finished up in Worcester and made the drive back with my mom over the weekend. It’ll be a rest, of sorts. Next week starts my orientation at the hospital here.

Stop me if I’ve discussed this before, or just listen anyway, but I think about the legacy I leave at each place I visit. 

I see myself as a representative of all travel nurses at times. The hospital may have had bad nurses in the past or this is their first brush with travelers. I don’t want to be THAT nurse who gave all travelers a bad name because I didn’t pull my weight. 

It can be daunting at times because mistakes happen to every person. I’m both a perfectionist and unable to see when I’m doing good work, which can be dangerous for me. We aren’t immune to mistakes no matter how perfect we try to practice. I try to own my mistakes, but in both my professional and personal life the thought of making a mistake and losing people’s respect can be crippling at times. I have to work through it when I start someplace new, I have to remind myself that I am human and therefore not perfect, and I try to double and triple check. Know thy policies. 

Coming back home to work is interesting for me too when it comes to legacies. I’m excited to see everyone and they seem excited to see me, but just like with anything I worry. 

Like Jesus coming home to preach, being home can be hard. They remember me when I was new and real green. I can’t pretend I’m the super B.A. travel nurse I project to everyone else because they’ve seen me confused and begging for help. It’s humbling and I think that’s probably good for me, being humbled. I know I won’t be treated differently, but I’m still aware of my image. 

There’s so much more I want to say on this, but I’ll leave it with this: we can make an impact, but should never let the fear of the impression we could make stop us from being great. 

Coming home for a bit. Let’s see how much I remember and how much has changed in the last year and a half-ish since I started this travel gig full time. But 5 days of hospital orientation though… Send me happy thoughts next Monday because I’m feeling some type of way.

Travel on, road warrior 

Traveling, too? Comment away

