Hello, how are you? 

I almost went for an Adele joke, but stopped myself. Frerer Jacques came to mind also, but that has more to do with my attempts to learn another language. 

That’s your random fact of the day. I’ve been attempting to learn Spanish since like June. I’m using the apps duolingo and Memrise. Both excellent, free apps that let you listen/repeat/spell/learn any language. I’m not sure I’ll ever be fluent, but I’m getting better at listening to my Spanish speaking patients and deciphering what they’re saying. 
Why is that even important? Because every person I take care of has a right to be understood and communicated with in a manner that respects them and their health. I hear some nurses say they shouldn’t need to know it, but I challenge that notion. You’d want to go somewhere foreign and know at least one person could understand you and help you navigate the hospital. I want to be that nurse for someone. My current issue is I get embarrassed when I try to speak, but I’ll keep at it. 

Which kinda links to today’s topic. 

I was home recently for a short while around Christmas. Working and keeping my mother from being sad with me being away a lot. Usual stuff. 

Anyway, I’d be out shopping or at the mall or at Kroger and someone would say hello or start talking to me. I’m not super approachable if you don’t know me, but I do smile and reply with a hello back. 

I noticed it happening a ton though. One day at the mall some random older gent started talking to my mom. I asked her who he was and she replied, 

“I don’t know. Just some guy saying hello.”

Then it hit me. I’m not in a big city where people barely look at you when you pass them let alone say hi. I’m in small town USA where everyone says hello to each other and your neighbors will watch your house when you’re gone on vacation 

Living in large cities for the majority of my traveling career means I’ve forgotten that was a thing people do. Speak to strangers. I’m used to mass transit where you stand close, but don’t speak. Where wearing headphones is normal. 

Honestly it was a moment where I realized how different I am. It was nice seeing it but also super odd. It’s no longer familiar to me. I also noted the other things not so good about small towns, but that’s for another post. 

I’ll leave it at it being a nice thing seeing and hearing all the warm greetings. I don’t get that when I’m away and it’s pleasant. The perks of traveling is seeing different things and knowing you can always come home.  

Until I’m home again (in March) 

Travel on, road warrior. 

Traveling, too? Comment away

