I’m not saying we’re Sensitive Sallys, but…

My travel life is a series of furnished apartments and hotel rooms. I can’t say that bothers me, but it definitely made me chuckle as I gathered my breakfast this morning. That’s travel life for you though, I’m an semi-permanent tourist/resident. 

Anyway, my trek up to Plymouth starts this coming weekend. Someone asked me how I was feeling about it. Usually the nerves start right around now, but I just kinda want to get the first 3 weeks over with. I want to know if it’ll be a good temporary fit or if it’ll be 14 trying weeks. Fingers crossed for the good fit, eh? 

On to my topic. I’ve noticed more and more we’ve become a society of sensitive people. Everything offends us. Every. Thing. 

The question is: are we really so sensitive?

(Note: I wrote a post last year about being over sensitive. Before I said it hinders discussion, but now I think it has the ability to lead to great discussion if we ask why.)

It’s argued that 20 years ago we weren’t so easily offended by everything. We also weren’t a society so tied to our electronics. Many times when you were offended, you’d hear about it and beat each other up. Now saying things offensive across the interwebz could lead to you losing your job and serious ridicule. 

Many things said that others consider offensive are. Think about it. What you see on the Internet is racially charged, sexually offensive, derogatory, and nasty. I ask you why those things should be allowed without consequences? Why someone gets a free pass to spew anything without backlash? 

No one can encroach on another’s free speech, that’s your right. There are many places where free speech is stifled in every way. For a lot of our complaints as Americans, we have a ton of freedoms. But you aren’t free from consequences of exercising said freedoms. I call it being mindful, responsible, and self-aware. Others may not agree, but I’ll come at you another way. 

If you’re on the receiving end, you expect someone to be mindful of how they talk about you or your family. More than that, a lack of that personal awareness shows how little you care about the margianalized person you’re talking crap about. I challenge you in that case. If you look at me and can then say whatever you want about black Americans or women then I question your Christian concern. 

Lastly, I challenge you to ask why someone became offended by it. Reverse the roles and check your pulse, then get back to me. 

We want to be understood. Understood, valued, and recognized. We want our history, our struggles, and our present selves validated. Nursing teaches about cultural awareness and how that can have an effect on a patient’s care. I challenge everyone to recognize how a broader understanding can make others make sense. 

Here’s what I’ll say in closing. A recent conversation about how we deal with those with addictions and how we care for them made me think. It was mentioned that coming in with an attitude makes people mistrust and lie to you which impedes caring for them AND their infant. Dialing back your conscious and subconscious prejudices/judgments makes people open up. 

Yes, we are a sensitive lot of arm chair, internet warriors. Some of the stuff that fires us up is silly, but some of it is worth the fuss. Some of it is worth asking why it bothers someone soo much. 

Off my soapbox, for now. Just wait until I start talking about slippery slopes. Definitely saving that for another day. 

Travel on, road warrior. 

Traveling, too? Comment away

