Jesus Take The Wheel

So begins my trek cross country. It started rather abruptly yesterday as the worry of snow and ice sent me out the door a day early. I’ll get to that in a sec, but first…

In case you didn’t know, I loathe the snow.

A little background on me (for those who don’t know me), I was born in Maryland and spent the first 10 years of my life in the D.C. Area. As a family, we moved to Bridgeport, WV when the FBI made the big transfer so I’ve spent the large majority of my life in WV. Love it, claim it, call the Mountian State my home. I went to college in the area and worked the first 7 years in a 30-40 min distance from my childhood home. It snows in WV. Pretty much can count on that happening every winter without fail. Most people cope with it well and for a long time I just worked to grin and bear it. Nurses are essential workers so…

And then I started traveling for a living. I love Boston, which is the first place I traveled, but it’s terrible in the winter. One of the worst places during winter months actually. So, when considering where to go next, of course I opted for a place that’s typically warm – meaning no snow. And a yearly tradition is born. The east coast is my place from April through December, but after the new year I’m a Cali girl for 3 months. This is year 4 of heading west

That means, I drive out every other year. So I beg my best friend to drive out with me, we try desperately to avoid the snow, and we sightsee. And eat all the good food. This year is Nashville, Oklahoma City, Sante Fe, Utah, Vegas, and up to San Fran.

As much as change doesn’t bother me, I like change under careful circumstances. Admittedly, when things change abruptly, I become grouchy, flustered, and incredibly uncertain. Yesterday’s abrupt departure definitely put a kink in all my plans for the week. Not only that, but once I arrived something went awry with the hotel and they had no power. That means I was sent to a different hotel. It was one little thing after another that kind left me extremely… not a nice girl.

I was trying to look for a lesson in it. Heck, I’ve been looking for a lesson in the entirety of this year. Here’s kind of what I’ve settled on.

Not a huge Carrie Underwood fan, and really I don’t like the song for a lot of reasons, but Jesus Take the Wheel is one of my favorite things to say when things get a little out of control. Sometimes I say it jokingly and others it’s a true prayer for patience.

Here’s where my Christian roots show even in the midst of my backslid ways. For all I struggle at times, I believe God has the proverbial wheel. I’m the queen of uncertain and right now I’m battling anxiety and obsessive tendencies, but I trust that even still God is working things out. That doesn’t protect me from death, disease, or pain, but it reminds me that His hand guides. This world isn’t a fun place and we can’t avoid the not fun parts even if we’re staunch believers who are kind, love others how they need it, and pray without ceasing. But His hand guiding is still a surety.

Things can go from great to awful in an instant. Life is that way and that won’t change. As much as we complain this year and our privilege in country had insulated us from many of the awful things that could occur. I never want to downplay grief, loss, change, or hard times. This year has been full of it. Next year may not be different, but I can set my mind where it needs to be in order to remind myself of the good. I’m thinking of doing a photo a day next year to help remind me to look for the good things.

As for this trip? I’m going to trust God with the things that make me uncertain. I’ll also keep my hands on the actual car steering wheel because we may run into *shudder* snow.

Travel on, Road Warrior

One thought on “Jesus Take The Wheel

Traveling, too? Comment away

